This guide explains how to delete user records from OneSignal. If you want to delete segments without the user records see Deleting Segments.
Deleting users cannot be reversed!
Once you delete users, there is no way to get them back. Deleted users can only get push again once they:
- Web: Clear browser cookies, then return to your site
- Mobile: Open the app again. We recommend being up to date on the latest version of OneSignal's SDK in the app.
Deleted users can only get email and sms again once you add their email address or phone number back into OneSignal.
WARNING: DO NOT DELETE ALL USERS
Be very careful when following these steps, make sure you do not delete all users.
On all of our paid plans, we will retain your push subscription data until you choose to delete it.
On our Free Plan, we will retain all push subscriptions that have been active in the past 18 months. Starting November 1, 2023, push subscriptions that are dormant for longer for more than 18 months will be automatically deleted on the Free Plan.
To delete users with our API, see the Delete Users API Reference.
You can use the
onesignal_id or any other alias you have set.
Navigate to Audience > Users.
Search for the External User ID you want to delete.
Next to each Subscription record, select the Options > Delete.
This guide details on how to delete multiple users and/or delete multiple subscriptions for a user within the OneSignal dashboard.
See Segments for details on creating segments.
If you have a list of users, upload a CSV to add tags for segmentation.
If you want to delete older, inactive subscriptions, we recommend using the "Last Session" filter with greater than 4321 hours (6 months). Make sure to select greater than and NOT "less than".
Before deletion, we also recommend sending 2 notifications to this segment to try winning those users back.
When ready, select Options > View Users
In Audience > Users:
- Check that the correct Segment is selected.
- Select the arrow next to 'Update/Import Users' to reveal the dropdown
- Select Delete Users In Segment
A confirmation screen will appear showing how many users will be deleted and require you to input the name of the segment to confirm deletion.
WARNING: POINT OF NO RETURN!
Once you press Delete Users your users will be deleted.
This cannot be undone.
After clicking Delete Users a confirmation screen will appear and you will be sent an email confirming the deletion.
You cannot delete more than 1 segment at a time per app.
Updated 22 days ago